Doing What You Want to do

The responses that my fellow Cadets and I get vary.  Some people praise us, some people respect us, some people don’t like us, and some people would say; “Why would you want to do that? Your life must suck”. The answer is simple: I want to become a leader. More importantly, a leader in the Air Force.  Although I have an idea of what I want to do in the Air Force, I’m still not entirely sure, but I do know that I want to be here, even if it’s very difficult sometimes.  I especially enjoy the camaraderie with my buds and I look out for them whenever I can.  Believe it or not, we do have our “fun” moments.  In Florman’s book, Florman, like me, takes the road less traveled.  Instead of doing what his father did in the millinery business (something he was familiar with), he decides to go into the Civil Engineering Corps.  There are no guarantees and the schooling was hard, but he did it anyway because that’s what he wanted to do.  In Tony Hawk’s essay, “Do What You Love”, he describes the struggles he’s had to deal with from being a professional skateboarder.  He had to deal with the constant scolding he received from some of his school teachers, telling him that he won’t make a living doing what he wanted to do, the negative stereotypes that people have about skateboardersImage and getting frustrated because he couldn’t land a maneuver.  Although both of these men struggled through certain times of their lives, they still kept trying to accomplish their dreams and became very successful men.  Like them, I am going through some of the same struggles that they are going through and I have continued to pursue my goals as well.  

Leave a Reply

