Doing What You Need To Do

Sometimes the things that we need to do, are the last things that we want to do.  I have been required to pay attention to detail more than I ever had in my life.  I’ve had to learn to not gaze on upper quad and in the halls, yell at the top of my lungs when I’m in the halls, I’ve had to learn ranks, names, memorize VT history and so forth.  It’s been difficult and time consuming.  Many times I’ve wanted to do other things but I know now that I had to pay attention to details in order to be successful.  In Florman’s book, he talks about his first job as a assistant estimator at Thompson Starrett Company.  He recalls reviewing hardware schedules, analyzing each lockset, and counting structural glazed blocks.  Everything had to be checked multiple times and nothing was trivial enough to be looked over.  His job was tedious and not very enjoyable but necessary to say the least.  In Dr. Bob Barret’s essay in “This I Believe II”, Barret writes about how difficult it was for him to come out about being homosexual.  As a married man with children, he did not want to risk the fact of losing his family and respect as a man.  He did what he needed to do and admitted he was gay to his family.  Instead of ignoring the facts, he payed attention to detail and realized he was gay.

Leave a Reply

