Safety First

In the latest chapter of “Good Guys, Wise Guys, and Putting Up Buildings”, Florman talks about a developer he met who built apartment complexes with metal exterior fire escapesImage.  These fire escapes were old-school but effective.  They also provided an extra escape for residents compared to other recently built complexes.  It’s safe to say that the developer’s top priority is safety.  In an essay by Ernesto Haibi, Haibi describes his time in Iraq as a doctor in the army in which he witnessed soldiers taking care of the Iraqi people so that they felt safe.  After insurgents let off several car bombs, American soldiers fought the insurgents for more than eight hours until the insurgents backed off.  These resilient efforts by the soldiers showed that the Iraqi people’s safety was more important than their own.  In the past I have driven friends around that would not wear their seat belt.  Instead of telling them to put it on I would completely ignore it and not say anything.  Fortunately, I have not been involved in a car accident in my 3 years of driving and I would like to keep it that way.  However, I know that things do happen I could be involved in an accident with one of my friends in the car not wearing a seat belt.  I know this is unlikely but I still need to make my friends’ safety a priority and tell them to put on their seat belts. 

Leave a Reply

