Summer Goals

Over the summer, some of my biggest plans include, going on a SCUBA diving trip with my dad, take summer courses at a nearby college, and last but not least, find either an internship or get a part time job near home.  I have planned to contact Buckner Companies about an internship in Graham, NC, about 45 minutes from where I live, because I am not sure that I want to be in the construction business.  I think that being around the industry in an internship for a company that erects steel and precast is a good place to find out.  From now until the beginning of summer I will sign up for summer classes, continue to talk to my dad about our summer vacation, and contact Buckner Companies about an internship.

Samuel Florman, much like myself, also had to figure out his own passion as a youngster, as described in Chapter 2 of his book, “Good Guys, Wiseguys, and Putting Up Buildings”.  When he first went to college, he was not sure what exactly engineering entailed as he entered Dartmouth other than; “science and math with a paycheck”.  Likewise, I would like to figure what exactly the Construction Industry is all about other than, hard hats, lifting up large heavy materials and putting them somewhere.

Leave a Reply

